2022: A year in review

2022: A year in review

What a year it has been!

While 2023 is a few hours away, I decided to trace back how this year was for me. I reflected on the moments that brought light, the moments that made me step back and everything else in between.

Shall we?

The year started on a high note...

I was featured by Built in Africa as a Talent Accelerator! All this was possible through the contributions I made as a Google Developer Student Club Lead as well as a Google WomenTechmakers ambassador. It was an honour to share my story about community leadership and getting involved with Google Developer communities.

I got to do quite a number of talks with various GDSCs mostly in Kenya and Nigeria. As a GDSC lead, you get to interact with different Leads in your region. I got invites to speak virtually in different GDSCs eg Olusegun Agagu University of Science & Technology previously led by Funke Olasupo as well as participating in a Twitter space hosted by Chihurumnanya Nwanevu discussing about Diverse career opportunities in tech.

This was such an interesting panel session. I was equally shocked and excited to be sharing the mic with Adora Nwodo (SWE at Microsoft) & Ebenezer Don ( founder of NewDev.io previously a developer advocate at Jetbrains) and the rest of the speakers as well!

Contributions...

This was a very active year full of community contributions!

First and foremost, I'm proud to have organized my first IWD alongside WTM Nairobi. The event had a huge turnout and was a success.

Besides that, I also organized my first Google I/O extended Nairobi, which got over 900 attendees. Kudos to the entire GDG Nairobi team!

This was also the year that I got to wrap up my term as a GDSC Lead, from August 2021 - August 2022. I really loved moulding our campus community. Got various partnerships with companies & organisations which was a huge benefit to our members. This wouldn't be possible without my core team who helped me carry out various activities.

Being the second lead of my campus gave me a deeper understanding of working alongside developer communities and how to gain and benefit from them! I hope the legacy continues.

Besides that, one of my major highlights this year as a community lead was getting a community partnership with droidcon Berlin!

It was such an honour to attend the conference and meet my fellow android software engineers from different parts of the world. The sessions were so enjoyable and I got to make some cool friends who assist me to become a better developer.

During the conference, I had the chance to be interviewed by Matt McKenna & Madona Wambua. We had the chance to talk about tech, communities and everything else in between.

Feel free to check it out here :)

During my arrival in Kenya, our university chancellor, Professor Deogratious Jaganyi, gave me a Public commendation during the 21st graduation ceremony held on August 2022. He applauded the GDSC community in our school which has grown over time and looked forward to its growth.

This was a very honouring experience and one of the moments that I was proud of.

Last quarter...

Finally, the last quarter of 2022.

Excited to wrap up my third year of uni. Starting my fourth and final year in January, yay!

More good news,

I got to be in the organizing team of droidcon Kenya! The FIRST droidcon in Africa.

It was a pleasure organizing the third edition of droidcon Kenya with an amazing crew who went all out to make the conference memorable and enjoyable. Attending my first droidcon ever in Berlin made me see on how I can contribute to the droidcon in my home country. I can say, it was Splendid!

droidconKE 2023 early bird tickets are currently selling!!

Be sure to buy your ticket and get to experience droidcon Kenya!

Jobby job...

Say hello to the new Android engineer of Lontech Facilities!

New role, yay!

Wrapping up...

A lot has happened that I couldn't put into this article. My biggest challenge was learning how to balance school, tech career and communities amongst other things. It was really a juggle but I may have cracked the code to that.

Besides all that, I'm beyond grateful for everything, the people I've met, the opportunities I got and also the opportunities I missed which made me improve and become better.

One of my favourites quotes which I picked from conversations I've had was;

"Go for it, the community is there to back you up" ~ Matt McKenna

"It's all about putting yourself out there" ~ Ben Weiss

These words were the driving force in the better part of 2022 and they will still be a reference in the coming year.

So, what more is to come in the following year?

  • Get to publish more articles

  • Having various android talks

  • Being on international stages

  • Contributing to more developer communities

  • Learning how to effortlessly balance school, work, communities and others

  • Mentor more people into tech & communities

and many more...

I hope you had a wonderful 2022. There's always something to celebrate no matter how big/small it is.

Looking forward to another year full of more growth and accomplishments.

Cheers!